top of page

Pickering War Weekend

Every year the town my family lives in holds a 'War Weekend' in celebration and rememberance of the world war times. This year I attended for the first time.

The streets were full of pockets of time-travel as thousands of people from across the country doned their 1940s Sunday best and wondered the streets. You had all phases of the spectrum - from those wearing something small to take part, to those who do this as professionally as it is possible to do. Reporters and photographers from around the county filter through the crowds snapping shots and asking the red-carpet question of 'who are you wearing today?'. This question was mightily anti-climactic when my answer was 'overalls from a nearby farm, and wellingtons I've had for years'. My headscarf was also my Mom's. I did make the papers with this answer though.

The amazing sight that is Pickering during war weekend was highlighted by the period vehicles that drove groups around, and exentuated by props, ornaments and sheer effort everyone in the town went to make the experience more magical for everyone involved.

I wanted to share some of the photographs that were taken of me when I was out and about. The photographers have gone on to take my recent headshots, and into talks with working with them to build their young portfolios. Altogether a tremendous weekend.

Jemma Rowlston Pickering WW 2014 2.jpg
Jem Rowlston Pickering WW 2014 5.jpg
Jemma Rowlston Pickering WW 2014 3.jpg

Jem R

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
bottom of page